DIY gelatin peel off mask….Must or Bust?

Okay, so I might be a little late to jump on this DIY peel off mask bandwagon, but better late then never right? I’ve seen the plethora of bloggers, vloggers, and do-it-yourselfers trying out this easy mask that supposedly is supposed to get rid of blackheads, facial hair and dead skin.  Although I am the first person to get on board with anything peel-off, I was a little hesitant to try this one simply because I didn’t want to be disappointed. I finally put aside my worries to give it a shot. Here is what happened…

I made the mask with the following ingredients:

kelli-mask-5-of-9

  • 1 tbs. Knoxx unflavored gelatin
  • 1 tbs. calcium bentonite clay (many people prefer activated charcoal. I am familiar with both and know that the clay pulls out my impurities better. It’s up to you!)
  • 1 tbs. distilled water

You want to add the tablespoon of water to the gelatin, then put it in the microwave for about 30 seconds. Then add the clay, and mix it together until you have a pasty consistency.

I let mine dry for about 30 minutes before peeling it off. Now the real question….was I blackhead free?

kelli-mask-9-of-9

 

Nope, not by any means. But if I’m honest, I wasn’t expecting to be. I would have been more surprised if it HAD removed a decent amount of blackheads.  It did remove my facial hair, which is nice I suppose. It’s not a totally hopeless DIY, and if you are looking to get rid of some peach fuzz and dead skin, this will certainly be helpful.

Final thoughts? If you are looking to get rid of blackheads, here is what I believe is the best way to go about it. Being consistent and persistent. Cleansing, exfoliating, masks, and hydration. And even then your blackheads may not be totally gone, but your skin will be at it’s healthiest state for sure. And remember: BE GENTLE TO YOUR SKIN. Even if you have oily skin, scrubbing your face to death, although it may clean your skin, will also irritate your skin. Exfoliating your skin gently and consistently will give you better results.

If you tried this mask, and had better results, or didn’t, make sure you let me know how it went for you!

 

Leave a Reply

